Eyetribe compatibility

Hi everyone,
I have an eyetribe eyetracker which I want to integrate into an existing experiment built using psychopy 2020.1.3. I’ve checked:

1. ioHub with Eye Tribe eye-trackers
  2. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/25121166/incorporate-eye-tribe-eye-tracker-into-psychopy
  3. Starting eye tracker through iohub
  4. https://www.psychopy.org/api/iohub/starting.html
    But I didn’t manage to get it work.

Given that documentation for the integration of eyetribe with recent versions of psychopy is obsolete, I wanted to ask if there is any workaround available or if it’s no longer supported.

Hi Chris,

Funnily enough, before I started at PsychoPy, when I was a technician at Lincoln uni, I actually wrote some code to do just this!

Hi @TParsons. Thanks for your prompt reply and welcome to the psychopy community.
This tool is so useful. Thanks a lot for sharing.
I followed the instructions mentioned on the word document (btw thisExp.addData(‘etData’, val) throws an error because it has an apostrophe) but the issue now is that when it tries to read the eyetribe.py it doesn’t recognize the first line

pip install -r requirements.txt

I tried to find this txt file but to no avail. Even if I delete this line, then I get an error for the shapely package. (ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘shapely’). I installed it manually (either by using “pip install shapely” or downloading the package and install it from its folder path “pip install path of the folder” but again it shows the same error. When I run the eyetribe.py script from spyder it works smoothly without errors (without the pip install -r requirements.txt line) but from the psychopy environment it gives this error.
Any help would be very much appreciated.