**Excel file not being read properly/Digit Span**

OS Version: Windows 10
PsychoPy version 2022.24

Hello! I’m very new to Psychopy but I’ve recently been struggling with creating my digit span task, specifically, Psychopy is not reading numbers in my excel file properly according to how it’s organized on the excel sheet. For example, within my loop I have a digit span routine that specifies the specific sequence of numbers I want to appear, and a recall routine.

Main issue: Even though my text stimuli within the digit span routine specify that I want sequence 1 read ($s1), it does not do that when I run the experiment. Instead of reading the two digits (1 & 7), it reads four unrelated digits. It does this for all the other sequences, and I’m not sure why. I’ve specified four sequences out of 16 that I want read, and for some reason the loop doesn’t terminate so that the participant can proceed to the survey questions in my experiment.

I’ve tried reading and watching the limited # of videos that exist on this topic, but I don’t understand. Is it possible to solve this without using code? I’m working in builder mode. I’ve included some pictures to show how I’ve set up the text stimuli to specify the sequences and the loop properties which is connected to the excel file. I will try to see if I can post a picture of the excel sheet in a comment.

Any help would be appreciated. I’m sure the solution is rather simple, but keep in mind I am very new to this program. Thank you!

My excel sheet

Hi @Filmologia, I don’t exactly know where the random digits come from, but from looking at your xlsx I think you are making this way more complicated and error-prone than it has to be (e.g., having different sequences in different columns). Attached you find a minimal example of how this could work with two loops around a digit and a response routine. Let me know if you have any questions!

digitspan.zip (20.9 KB)