Drawing with mouse, saving a ShapeStim to file

Hello everybody!

I’m asking for some suggestions on how I might save a ShapeStim to a file. I adapted some code I found on a different post so that participants can use the mouse to draw on the screen by continually updating a ShapeStim, and I would like to save their drawing to a file. I’m thinking a png so I could later open it and see what they drew.

I have plenty of coding experience but not much in manipulating image files, so I’m just wondering if you all had a suggestion for a place to look, or if there were a format or data container that would be a flexible way of storing the data. Can I convert the ShapeStim to an object that can be handed to a different library or something?

Thanks in advance, I’d be happy to post any working solutions here for those who might find this interesting in the future. Hope you’re all doing great.

Dan

Actually now that I’m looking at my code again, they can actually draw several ShapeStims, but I’m having them draw it in a specified area of the screen.

Two solutions:

• certainly you could take a copy of the window when the shape has been drawn using Window.getMovieFrame() (one or more times) and Window.saveMovieFrames() to save all captured frames since last save
  • but I’d have thought you can do more by extracting the ShapeStim.vertices values and saving those rather than the image they represent. Knowing the vertices seems to provide more analysis options to my mind, but it depends what you need I guess.

Of course, you can do both of the above to be extra safe!

That’s pretty much the plan, I figured saving the vertices will ultimately be more programmatically flexible. But I didn’t know about Window.getMovieFrame() and Window.saveMovieFrames(), so that was the other piece of the puzzle. Thanks Jon! Of course if anyone else has any other thoughts I’d be happy to hear them.

Ticking “solved” is best way to indicate the solution is what you’re looking for :slight_smile: