Differentiating when a distractor image is presented relative to a target

Hi there,
I’m really new at coding and am trying to complete an experiment that goes like this:

Neutral image is presented,
Another neutral image is presented with an arrow superimposed on top of it
A threatening image is presented
Another neutral image
Another neutral image
Question: which direction was the arrow facing?
Keyboard responses allowed: up, down, left and right arrow keys

What I’m struggling with is that I want the threatening image to appear at different points in the stream (e.g. vary between being the second image, third image and so on) on each trial.

So far I’ve only managed to set it up so that the threatening image is displayed third in the stream of images only.

Any help would be appreciated! My builder view is below:

Hello,

I attached a toy-experiment in which the target appears as the second or third stimulus in a row of three stimuli. I hope that this is explicit enough.

Position.psyexp (14.4 KB)
loopPosition.xlsx (8.7 KB)

Best wishes Jens

Thank you for your reply! Here’s how I have adjusted the code to my experiment. However, it doesn’t seem to have changed anything and the images are still presented the same. Any suggestions?

Hello,

Well, the if-branch and the elif-branch are identical. You must assign a different stimulus to Neutral3 and distractor in the elif-branch.

Neutral3 = distractorlist
distractor = Neutralimagelist3

Best wishes Jens

I’ve made that edit and adjusted it so that it fits my experiment and where I would need the images to present although it is still displaying only in the 4th slot (where it is on builder view) each time. Any suggestions?
Thanks again

Hello,

your code can‘t work because you stimuli are called N1, N2, aso., Dis, b1. The variable-names in the if-construction must match your stimulus names.

Best wishes Jens

Hi Jens,