Create conditional loop based on percentage of response

Hello everyone,
I’m new to PsychoPy (PsychoPy 2020.2.4) and I need some help please.
I’m working on an experiment in which participants have to memorize word pairs. After the memorization phase, they have to complete a Recall Phase. They will see the first word of each pair and have to recall and submit the second word of that pair. I have to questions :

1. Is it possible to program the experiment in a way that participants who achieve 75% of correct responses can pass to the next phase of the experiment and those who do not achieve 75% of correct responses have to do an other Memorization phase and the Recall phase ?

2. in the second Memorization phase, words would appear only 3 times (instead of 5, in the first Memorization task). I think this will require creating another loop and not just asking to go back to the previous loop if people have less than 75% but i’m not sure. Am i right ?

Thank you for help :slight_smile:

Just to be clear: You want a memorization section, where they have to get 75% correct to move on to the recall phase. If they get less than 75% correct, they have to restart the memorization phase, but this time they see the words only three times instead of five. Is that correct?

Assuming I’m understanding correctly, here’s what you’ll do:

At the beginning of the memorizing loop, set up a routine with a code component. In the begin experiment tab, make the variables memorizingAttempt = 1 (or something along those lines) and then include all the other code stuff you need for the loop. Then, in the begin routine tab (or wherever you define how many times the words appear), make an if statement:

if memorizingAttempt == 1 :
    numberWordRepeats = 5 #if it's their first time around, they see each word 5 times
else
    numberWordRepeats = 3 #if it's not their first time, they see them 3 times