Counterbalancing image stimuli

Hi all,

I am relatively new to psychopy and have managed to build a version of my experiment in the builder. I have noticed a counterbalancing issue which I don’t think can be solved using conditions files and likely requires some code. Unfortunately, I don’t have any prior coding experience and I am struggling to apply the basics to this issue.

In the experiment I am creating a visual illusion using image stimulus objects based on the muller lyer illusion (see example below). There are 2 parallel lines displayed in the centre of the screen every trial and ‘tails’ at the end of each line. I have recreated this in the builder using 6 image objects (1 for each parallel line and 4 images for the tails).

ML example

I have used conditions files to vary the length of the top line (and the relative position of the tails) each trial between 5 variants (the baseline length (688 pix), 788 pix, 888 pix, 588 pix and 488 pix) whilst keeping the bottom images constant. However, for counterbalancing purposes I would like to vary this so that either the top OR bottom line could change length in each trial whilst the other remains at the baseline length.

Participants are going to do a 2-alternative forced choice task to determine which line is longer in each trial so I want to eliminate any potential confound of only having 1 line change every trial.
From what I can tell this wouldn’t be possible to do using conditions files as both the top and bottom stimuli would change randomly every repeat.

Here is the current structure of the experiment, showing the set up for the first routine:

and a labelled mockup of the bottom half of the screen:

To make things more complex I am also varying the display of the stimuli so that there are 2 conditions:

1. where all the images are static (as described above)
  2. where the ‘tails’ at the end of each line flicker in a checkerboard pattern at a rate of approx 4 Hz