Choosing a particular column from the conditions file on the basis of the stimuli clicked

I’m trying to build an experiment where a participant would be shown 36 grids, of 3 different colours, and they’d need to click on the grids in order to get a reward.

So far, I’ve built two routines:
Routine 1 has all the grids (stimuli) that the participant would need to click + a mouse component.
Routine 2 displays the reward one can get.
Both the routines have been looped over and the conditions file basically has three different columns.

So, based on the particular type of grid that is clicked (depending on the colour), I want PsychoPy to choose a particular column from the conditions file and display a random value (as text) from all the values given in that specific column. This chosen column would vary depending on the colour of the grid that is clicked in the routine1 (thus, 3 columns for three colours).

I’m pretty new to PsychoPy, so if someone could give me directions with respect to this, it’ll be much appreciated!

Hi @namgyal,

I’m not entirely sure I understand what exactly you’re trying to achieve. Could you perhaps explain in a bit more detail what a trial involves? For example, how many grids are shown per trial? Is it three (one of each colour)? How often is an individual grid shown? What does your input file look like?
It might also help to upload your experiment (incl. the input file) and/or to show us screenshots of the relevant parts.

Jan

Hey @jderrfuss, yes sure.

Screenshot (211)

This is what the participant would see throughout the trial; this is the first routine.