Access variables in condition file and their use in code component (Java)

URL of experiment: Sign in · GitLab

Description of the problem:
I am trying to add a code component to my task in the builder, but I am not experienced with Java and I am finding issue in implementing what I am aiming for.

I want to make the feedback for every trial (fixation cross changing color to red for errors and to green for correct responses) conditional on a column of my condition file. I’m adding a code component in the routine in which I am collecting my responses (two button presses, key_resp and key_resp2)

The way I’m trying to do is to add in the BEGIN EXPERIMENT tab of my code component the following:

var Conditions psychoJS.experiment._trialsData

If I understood correctly, this should import the condition file in a Java-friendly way.

Then, in the END ROUTINE tab:

corr_l = Conditions.map((trial) => trial[trials.thisIndex,‘Corr_key_l’])
corr_r = Conditions.map((trial) => trial[trials.thisIndex,‘Corr_key_r’])

if ((resp_key.keys == corr_l) && (resp_key2.keys == corr_r)) {
color_feed = ‘green’
}
else color_feed = ‘red’
}

Then, obviously, the color of the fixation cross in the Feedback routine is set to change every repeat to $color_feed

The program is not throwing any error and runs smoothly online, but the fixation cross in the feedback is always changing to black.

Any suggestion on how to make this work?

Thank you!
Silvia

Hi @Silvia, with JavaScript it is normally right to declare your variables e…g, using var, but PsychoPy will do this for you, and create global variables that can be accessed throughout your task. If you use var in the code component, the variable will only be accessible in one part of the experiment, that is, it will be local to the beginning/middle of the experiment, routines etc. So, just remove the var and you are ok.