A self-paced pause within a loop

Hello,

I am a beginner and have little knowledge about coding.

I am now building a lexical decision task with randomized prime-target pairs presented. There are a total of 80 pairs and I would like to insert a self-paced pause that people can pause whenever they want.

If that is not possible, I would like to insert a pause after the completion of 40 pairs without interrupting the loop. What can I do with that? Thanks!

Itā€™s hard to give advice without some sense of what the program looks like now. How are you getting their responses? How is the loop put together?

the loop is presented in the sequence of

prime object 1 --> prime object 2 --> respond by pressing ā€˜aā€™ or ā€˜lā€™, and continue to the other pair

Oh, I see, this was constructed using the builder. Iā€™m not as familiar with the builder, but you may wish to re-tag this post as ā€œBuilderā€ and see if anyone knows how to add this kind of functionality to an experiment without adding code.

Iā€™m not sure that youā€™d be able to add that kind of functionality without adding code.

The best idea is probably to add a code component to the builder within the loop. Jonathan, do you have any idea about a code snippet that would cause the experiment to pause (and unpause) at will?

I donā€™t have the solution, but Iā€™d like to know the answer too as Iā€™m hoping to add something like this to a future experiment of mine!

OK, I poked around for 5 minutes and figured out a quick and easy solution. I never use the builder, so kudos to its design that I was able to work this out so quickly.

Add a ā€œcodeā€ object to your trial (you may need to add it to both trials if you want them to be able to pause any time). In it, select the ā€œevery frameā€ tab. Use the following code:

keys = event.getKeys()

if 'p' in keys:
    event.waitKeys()