Questions on a Cedrus response box

Hi experts,

I am a newbie of psychopy. I have made a simple lexical decision experiment with a builder mode and I want to use a cedrus response box instead of a keyboard. Should I use a coder mode to make the cedrus response box work? The model of the box is RB-540.

Thanks in advance,
Wonil

There is a Cedrus component in Builder. Have you tried that, and if so, what went wrong?

Thanks for your reply, Michael!

I’ve actually used the Builder and tried to run the program. But I got this errors.

########### Running: C:\Experiments\BA\psychopy\pilot_test_cedrus.py ###########
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Experiments\BA\psychopy\pilot_test_cedrus.py”, line 14, in
from psychopy import locale_setup, gui, visual, core, data, event, logging, sound, hardware
File “C:\Program Files (x86)\PsychoPy2\lib\site-packages\psychopy-1.84.2-py2.7.egg\psychopy\sound.py”, line 76, in
logging.warning(msg % (thisLibName, sys.exc_info()[1]))
UnicodeDecodeError: ‘ascii’ codec can’t decode byte 0xc1 in position 17: ordinal not in range(128)

I don’t think these errors are related to using a response box. Do you have any idea why I got these errors?
I am using psychopy 1.84.2 standalone version on Windows.

Thanks,

This probably refers to the coding of the given value of the button - are you using non-ASCII characters?

Yes, I have to use Korean characters. Do you have any idea to solve this issue?

Thanks,

Not sure - depends where the characters are. Psychopy (and indeed Python) have good handling of characters because they use UTF8. If you are importing conditions from an XLSX file, try changing it to a .csv file.

Thanks for your reply. I have actually deleted all non-English characters but still have the same error.
Hmm…Is there anyone who has any idea why it is happening?

Thanks,