Way to get monitor information like size when running exp online?

Description of the problem:

I am trying to figure out how to get the monitor size of each participant that takes my study online and store it as a variable in my excel data files.

How do I do this?

@eszubsk, you should be able to get the size of the browser window using

psychoJS.window.size

I assume that psychoJS.window.size returns the resolution in pixels. Is that what you wanted? If not then you probably need to write a “resize a rectangle so it’s the same size as a credit card” technique described elsewhere:

This seems to be a solution but I am having trouble adding it as a code component to my experiment in Builder.
This is the error I keep getting:

expInfo[‘Window_size’] = psychoJS.window.size
NameError: name ‘psychoJS’ is not defined

Thank you in advance for your help. I am very new to PsychoPy and coding in general.

This is a really intriguing component that I would like to implement.

However I am very new to psychopy and coding in general.

Would it be possible to add this via the code component through psychopy builder?

@eszubsk, that looks like a Python error, so make sure you use this code in the JavaScript panels of the code component by setting the code type to ‘JS’ or ‘Both’. If using ‘Both’, the JS code is in the right hand panel.

I’ve written a Screen Scale PsychoPy that seems to work this evening – written in builder with code components.

I’ve set it to public so it can be viewed/copied.

Best wishes,

Wakefield

2 Likes

@wakecarter thank you so much for sharing Screen Scale!

V2020.1.3.
Windows 10
Chrome

I also want to run an online study that presents images as stimuli.
If all participants see these images at the same size regardless of their screen resolution and window size it would be really convenient for my experiment.