Understanding the flip() method

Hello,
I am studying code generated from the PsychoPy builder (as a practice exercise) and just noticed something strange. I 'd like to present a stimulus 0.5s after the beggining of a given trial. The builder generates the following piece of code:

t = trialClock.getTime()
if t >= 0.5 and stim.status == NOT_STARTED:
        # keep track of start time/frame for later
        stim.tStart = t
        stim.frameNStart = frameN  # exact frame index
        stim.setAutoDraw(True)

if continueRoutine:  # don't flip if this routine is over or we'll get a blank screen
        win.flip()

On LCD monitors, the refresh is a flood fill from top to bottom. Does the flip() method correspond to top (onset of refresh cycle, which I suspect) or bottom (end of refresh cycle)?

In a second exercise, I chose to present the stimulus at t = 0.2s during 0.2s. The builder then generates the following:

if t >= 0.2 and stim.status == NOT_STARTED:
            # keep track of start time/frame for later
            stim.tStart = t
            stim.frameNStart = frameN  # exact frame index
            stim.setAutoDraw(True)
frameRemains = 0.2 + 0.2- win.monitorFramePeriod * 0.75  # most of one frame period left
if stim.status == STARTED and t >= frameRemains:
            stim.setAutoDraw(False)

I am confused. Why is ā€˜-win.monitorFramePeriod * 0.75ā€™ added in this case?

Thanks for your help on this!

1 Like

The flip() method returns when the back buffer is released by the driver (if vsync is enabled), which usually proceeds the end of the refresh cycle.

Iā€™m not to sure what the code in the second question is doing though.

So the flip() method returns the end of the refresh cycle? In other words, the code continues after a flip() call when the refresh cycle is finished?
@Michael could you then clarify what the code generated by the Builder is doing? Many thanks and happy new year PsychoPy folks!