TypeError: Cannot read property 'getBoundingClientRect' of null

Description of the problem: Cannot type anything in the text box on Pavlovia but works perfectly fine in desktop

Error message: TypeError: Cannot read property ‘getBoundingClientRect’ of null

As mentioned above, I can’t type anything in the text box when running the pilot experiment. This error message is not seen in other threads and I would like to seek help from the experts here. Below are the links to the experiment:

URL of experiment: https://run.pavlovia.org/khpy6ckh/4th-study-demo
Codes of experiment: https://gitlab.pavlovia.org/khpy6ckh/4th-study-demo

Appreciate anyone’s opinion on this. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Kai

Hey @khpy6ckh,

I’m an expert :wink: could you share your repo with me? (tpronk)

1 Like

Hi @thomas_pronk, just did. Do let me know if you need anything else. :grin:

Hey again!

I know what causes the problem, but I’m afraid we don’t yet have a solution yet: textbox doesn’t work after (or in combination with) a keyboard response. The best workaround I can offer at the moment is using mouse responses instead.

It’s a known issue though; made a ticket for it over here: Textbox doesn't register input after a keyboard response · Issue #287 · psychopy/psychojs · GitHub

Sorry for not being able to be of more help.

1 Like

Hi @thomas_pronk
No, please don’t be sorry. That actually solves my problem :smiley: (since what I want is just a simple transcription task where participants can proceed after typing what they hear).
Thanks again, senpai!

Happy to read that. Good luck with your experiment!

Hi @thomas_pronk, mind if I ask you one last question?