Type Error: cannot concatenate 'str' and 'NonType' objects - please help!

Hey!
I’m quite new to PsychoPy, and am using the Builder vires (no programming skills)
OS Win 7, PsychoPy v1.84.2 (Standard Standalone?? - Sorry, I don’t really know what that means…)

I want to play a series of audio files. The files are in a folder called audios. I made an xlsx-file with a column called kontextaudio and containing the names of the files (kontext01, kontext02, etc.)

In the properties window of the sound stimulus, I defined the sound to be:
$“audios/”+kontextaudio+$".wav"
Thus the relative path shoud be audio/kontext01.wav, then audio/kontext02.wav, etc.
(I’m attatching a picture of the experiment plus the properties window)

Is that the wrong way to do that?
I’m attatching the error message as well (sorry, somehow I cannot just copy the text…)

I guess the solution is simple but I have tried to change the way I defined the sound and nothing worked… Thank you so much for your help!

Raina

Hi Raina,

I think formatted strings are the way to go - presuming kontextaudio is a variable see below:

'audios/%s.wav' %kontextaudio

Hopefully that will work!

Oli

Thank you @Oli!
I am using the builder, and I am quite inexperienced with PsychoPy, so can you tell me how I can implement this in the builder?
Do I put
‘audios/%s.wav’
in the sound properties box??

And where do I define
%kontextaudio

Thank you!!

That’s right but you’d have a dollar sign:

$'audios/%s.wav' %kontextaudio

make sure to include the part to the right too. Kontextaudio is set from your conditions file. The other way to do this would be to have the full path to each file in your conditions file under that column - but that is a bit fiddly.

BW

Oli

Dear @Oli,
If I do that, I get:
ImportError: Conditions file grmJudg-Saetze.xlsx: Missing parameter name(s); empty cell(s) in the first row?
But my .xlsx-file looks like this:

Is there any error in that?

Hi Reina,