Timming inside fMRI with variable choice times

OS (e.g. Win10): Win10
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 2023.2.3
Standard Standalone? (y/n) If not then what?:y

I am quite new to Psychopy and I plan to implement an online task that was designed through Psychopy in the scanner. I wanted to see the feasibility of accurate timing (non-slipping timing) within this design. This task will have variable presentation times (jittered time responses due to the fMRI adaptation) but also inherently has variable presentation due to variable decision time. Would that make it ineligible for non-slipping timing?
At the same time in Builder mode, when I open the existing task (that does not have the jittered time responses but has the variable presentation following a key press), I can see routines that have a green and a blue colour but none are red (or grey). Does that mean instead that non-slipping timing is feasible?
In the past, I have worked with Cogent (now discontinued) where I would simply add timers before and after every event (from a global clock) so as to to make sure that any time slipping would not influence my analysis (even if it results in a slight deviation in duration). In this case, I would need the timing of stimuli presentation to be accurate as it interferes with the design of the imaging task.

I would appreciate any clarification on this.

Thank you in advance,

George

Hello George

You might want to take a look at Peirce, J. W., Hirst, R. J. & MacAskill, M. R. (2022). Building Experiments in PsychoPy. 2nd Edn London: Sage. Your library might have it :smile: The requirements you mention are possible in PsychoPy, but are too general to be answered properly.

Best wishes Jens

Hi Jens,

Thank you very much for your fast reply.

I have indeed seen the documentation regarding an fMRI study but I am a bit puzzled about what happens in terms of accurate timing and how to ensure non-slip timing.