Show Different Reward Image after X Number of Trials

PsychoPy version: 2022.2.5

I am new to PsychoPy and am trying to convert an experiment that worked on a previous version to this new version. The task is to choose between two pictures after an audio cue. There are a total of 32 trials, but after every 8 trials, I would like a new image to be shown (as a reward). I would also like the code to count whether the chosen image was correct.

Below is an image of the loops I am working with. The participants are shown the two images in “testing” and then asked to choose one of the images in “choiceTest”. After 8 trials, I would like “unicorn1” to show, then have it go back to “testing” and “choiceTest” for another 8 trials before “unicorn2” is shown. This would continue until all 32 trials are complete.

Again, this task was coded on a previous version but unfortunately the code doesn’t work. I would like the new code to do exactly the same thing as the old code, so I pasted it below in case someone can “translate” it for me.

In “End Routine” of “choiceTest”:

if picleft.contains(mouse_2):
    continueRoutine = False
    thisExp.addData ('RT', t)
    thisExp.addData('clicked', pic1)
    if target == pic1 :
     score = 1
    else :
     score = 0
    thisExp.addData('score', score)
elif picright.contains(mouse_2):
    continueRoutine = False
    thisExp.addData('clicked', pic2)
    if target == pic2 :
     score = 1
    else :
     score = 0

In “Each Frame” of “unicorn1”:

if testingLoop.thisTrialN == 7:
        continueRoutine=False

Hi @jekuo,
This looks do-able, especially if it was working previously.
When the code doesn’t work, are you receiving an error message, crash, or other unexpected behaviour?
Will this study be run offline (PsychoPy) or online with Pavlovia (PsychoJS)?
What previous version of PsychoPy did you use when the code was working?

-shabkr

Thank you so much!