Selection of set number of random trials

OS (e.g. Win10): Win10
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 3.2.4
Standard Standalone? (y/n) y
What are you trying to achieve?:

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new to psychopy (and programming - that’s why I’m going with the builder mode) and would appreciate your help. In general, my experiment is a sentence/picture matching task (i.e. each trial consists of a sound file + image file) preceeded by a priming condition (a sound file).

So my experiment should go like this:

prime
block of 6 trials
prime
block of 6 trials
etc

I have 48 trials, 6 of which I’d like to be randomly chosen once (i.e. not repeated) for each block, until all trials are done.

In case there isn’t a problem so far, let me add one: the prime has 2 levels (i.e. 2 sound files) which need to be counter balanced.

Imaginary solution 1:
create two experiments that have pre-loaded the counterbalanced primes
figure out a way to randomly select 6 trials for each block
prime1
block1
prime2
block2
loop to prime1

(and the counterbalanced version with prime2 first)

Imaginary solution 2:
create one experiment that starts randomly with either one prime and then an If conditional within the loop to present the other prime the next time
primex
block
loop(with the other prime)

I’m sure that each of the solutions might have a different way of selecting a set number of random trials from my variables file, so I’m sorry for the long post!

What did you try to make it work?:

I’ve more or less done the solution 1, but the problem is that I don’t know how to get a random selection out of the 48 items from the variables file. For the block 1 I have a selection of 0:6

and for the block 2 I have a selection of 6:12

But it randomly selects out of this range and I obviously need it to select randomly 6 out of the 48.

When it has shown all 48 trials, I’ll need to end the loop and get a message that the experiment is over.