psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Searching for a file in the working directory

Hey!
I’m creating an online experiment, where each participant would get their own unique conditions file. I’ve set it up using tips I found here in the forum, by dynamically naming the conditions file, based on the Participants’ ID.
I’d like to add a piece of code that would search for the .csv before reaching the loop, and in case it can’t find it it would load a default .csv file, that I will put there (just in case I mess up something, I like to have a contingency, so as to not crash the whole experiment).
I’m new to python and to javascript, but in matlab I’d do something like:

conditions_filename = [‘s’ participant_id ‘.csv’];
default_file = ‘default_stim.csv’;
try
load(conditions_filename)
catch
load(default_file)
end

or, alternatively,

if ~isempty(dir(conditions_filename ))
conditions_filename = default_file

Any idea how I can achieve that with psychopy and pavlovia (so without importing any libraries)?
Thank you!

Hey!

It’s possible, but it’s a bit tricky to accomplish; you would need to add quite a lot of JavaScript to have it work robustly. I’ve got a simpler suggestion that might work too though: put all the participant-specific conditions in a single conditions file and select the right rows depending on the participant. Add your fallback rows in there too.

Best, Thomas

That’s a great suggestion, I’ll give it a go. Thanks!

Hey Thomas,
Thanks again for your help!
If I understand correctly, this solution would require me to upload the csv ahead of the loop (because i will need to find the relevant row index, based on the participant ID, to then give to the loop as the “selected row”)?

so based on that assumption, and browsing through some posts on this forum for uploading a csv file without using panda, I wrote this code:

# load the csv file