Reference error "$ not defined" on Pavlovia

I have a memory task I built on the latest version of PsychoPy. I want to move the task online through Pavlovia. The task runs fine on the laptop, but when I try to pilot it on Pavlovia, I enter the participant number and immediately get “Reference error: $numEncoding not defined” and the task won’t run.
I use numEncoding so that encoding phase runs for 25 trials. In the ‘begin experiment’ component, I have the variable set as numEncoding = 25.

I tried to troubleshoot this by changing “code type” from “py” to “both”. Now when I reopen the task and look at the code component, it says “Auto --> JS” instead of “both” and even if I set it to both, this does not seem to save. I’m not sure if this is the problem, and I’d appreciate any help or insight on this. This is my first time working with Pavlovia!

I can also share the url of the experiment if you think it would be helpful.

2 Likes

Yes, if you could share the code that you’re using it would be very helpful.

Psychopy code components default to “Auto -> JS” but this doesn’t affect the underlying code as long as you don’t type anything in the python side of the code component (if you do it might change any custom javascript code that you’ve written)

Hello,

Thank you very much for your reply! Here is the url of the experiment: https://run.pavlovia.org/lcdlab/spatialmemory

I didn’t type anything extra, I just had the code type set to “py” as it was default, later on went back and changed to “both” after I read here that it could cause issues/may be why the experiment isn’t running. At the time “Auto -> JS” didn’t even show up, when I opened it later it was set to it.