.psydat to .csv problems

Good afternoon,

I am new to using the coder view in PsychoPy (and to coding in general) and am having an issue using the .psydat to .csv converter tool. I’m using PsychoPy v1.84.2 on OS X, but the data was collected on a Windows computer probably using an older version of PsychoPy (waiting to hear back from the researcher about which version exactly, in case that makes a difference). Here is what happens when I try to use the tool:

psydat: /Users/stevenalcorn/Desktop/Conversion/999Diego.psydat
Exception AttributeError: “‘ExperimentHandler’ object has no attribute ‘dataFileName’” in <bound method ExperimentHandler.del of <psychopy.data.ExperimentHandler object at 0x119df9510>> ignored
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Users/stevenalcorn/Desktop/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/psychopy/app/_psychopyApp.py”, line 343, in csvFromPsydat
exp = fromFile(filePsydat)
File “/Users/stevenalcorn/Desktop/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/psychopy/tools/filetools.py”, line 35, in fromFile
contents = cPickle.load(f)
EOFError

Is there anything else I can try in order to get this data in .csv format? Thanks in advance!

Steven

I have been looking for alternative bits of code to use instead of the option included in PsychoPy, but have not found anything. Does anyone know how I could go about converting these .psydat files? Thanks again!

It would be useful to know the version of PsychoPy with which these files were created. Maybe the ExperimentHandler class has changed in structure since then. I think it is now possible to tell PsychoPy to run as a previous version (as the distribution includes a git repository going back a few releases). This might help.

Perhaps get back to us with the version and even post an example .psydat file here.