Psychopy and Pupil labs eye tracker

Hello All,

Has anyone tried to integrate pupil labs eye tracker into Psychopy?
I am new to research and programming. I have developed my experiment mainly through the builder interface of psychopy, I am now trying to synchronize timing between the 2 and I am struggling!!! The code for the stroop task is for the tobi eye tracker. I have also tried to implement the LSL protocol through one of the plugin available but no success as I am not sure how to receive the data.

I would appreciate any hints or help (baby language please :).

Thank you so much!

E

Hi elodie_rigal:
I’m running an experiment in psychopy wich involves pupil lab eye-tracker. Do you already know how to integrate them and synchronize timing ?
It would be very helpfull for me if you reply with a soluton, if you found one.
thanks you so much in advance!

Hello Pablo,

It’s been now a few months since I did this experiment. I used the code that you can find on Pupil Lab website https://docs.pupil-labs.com/#developer-docs but I ran the code on a separate python program (not directly from Psychopy) and was receiving the data on a separate port.
Here what I used to record the ‘gaze’.

Hope this helps.
E

import zmq
from msgpack import loads

context = zmq.Context()
# open a req port to talk to pupil
addr = '127.0.0.1'  # remote ip or localhost
req_port = "50020"  # same as in the pupil remote gui
req = context.socket(zmq.REQ)
req.connect("tcp://{}:{}".format(addr, req_port))
# ask for the sub port
req.send_string('SUB_PORT')
sub_port = req.recv_string()

# open a sub port to listen to pupil
sub = context.socket(zmq.SUB)
sub.connect("tcp://{}:{}".format(addr, sub_port))

# set subscriptions to topics
# recv just pupil/gaze/notifications
sub.setsockopt(zmq.SUBSCRIBE, 'pupil.')
# sub.setsockopt_string(zmq.SUBSCRIBE, 'gaze')
# sub.setsockopt_string(zmq.SUBSCRIBE, 'notify.')
# sub.setsockopt_string(zmq.SUBSCRIBE, 'logging.')
# or everything: