Problems with using microphone

Hi

I’m new to PsychoPy, and I have a problem, but I just can’t sort it out.

• I’m running Psychopy 1.85.4 on a macOS High Sierra 10.13.3.
  • I’m new to psychopy and don’t know anything about Python’s code.
  • I’ve downloaded only the following from the ‘assets’, but is unsure whether anything else is needed: StandalonePsychoPy-1.

I’m trying to create a task where in the second loop I want to record the subjects answer (see picture 1). When I run the experiment without the microphone it works but when I add the microphone component it just freezes when I get to the point where it’s supposed to record (it freezes at the screen that corresponds to ‘test’ in the ‘test_loop’).

This is the error message I get:

Running: /Users/christinedyrsting/Desktop/PsychoPy set 1/test_1_lastrun.py

pyo version 0.8.6 (uses single precision)
2018-04-12 09:26:19.979 python[1827:126607] ApplePersistenceIgnoreState: Existing state will not be touched. New state will be written to (null)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Users/christinedyrsting/Desktop/PsychoPy set 1/test_1_lastrun.py”, line 679, in
mic_1 = microphone.AdvAudioCapture(name=‘mic_1’, saveDir=wavDirName, stereo=False)
File “/Applications/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/psychopy/microphone.py”, line 357, in init
self.setMarker()
File “/Applications/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/psychopy/microphone.py”, line 402, in setMarker
sampleRate = sound.pyoSndServer.getSamplingRate()
AttributeError: ‘NoneType’ object has no attribute ‘getSamplingRate’
Exception RuntimeError: RuntimeError(‘sys.meta_path must be a list of import hooks’,) in <bound method ExperimentHandler.del of <psychopy.data.experiment.ExperimentHandler object at 0x111ae5590>> ignored
Exception TypeError: “‘NoneType’ object is not callable” in <bound method Server.del of <pyolib.server.Server object at 0x112aad4d0>> ignored