Problems with running experiment online

URL of experiment: https://gitlab.pavlovia.org/CPouw/spr

Hi all,

I have put together a self-paced reading experiment (which works perfectly from Builder) and I would like to put this online, so that participants can run it from their own computer.

I am now piloting it, but I ran into some problems:

1. The welcome text/instructions show up bigger when I’m running it online than when I’m running it from Builder. Therefore, it doesn’t fit on the screen.
  2. After the instructions, a fixation cross (+) appears on the screen and participants have to press the space bar to read the first word. However, this is not possible online, the experiment just seems to freeze…

I am very new to this, so any help is very welcome!

After browsing this forum for a bit, I found that the problem might be the code components that are still coded in Python. They should be converted to JavaScript. I unfortunately do not know how to do this… Can anybody help me with that?

These are my code components for the trials:

Begin Routine:

word_list = Sentence.split()
word_list.reverse() # switch the order
rtList = []
event.clearEvents()

Each Frame:

while continueRoutine:
    kb = event.getKeys(timeStamped=True)
    if len(kb) > 0:
        if 'space' in kb[0]:
            try:
                # This is the trial onset.
                nextWord = word_list.pop()
                text.setText(nextWord)
            except IndexError:
                continueRoutine = False
                rtList.append(kb[0][1])
                break
        rtList.append(kb[0][1])
        if 'q' in kb[0]:
            core.quit()
    win.flip()

End Routine:

rtList = np.ediff1d(rtList)
try: 
    # study phase
    trials.addData('senLen', len(rtList))
    for rts in range(len(rtList)):
        trials.addData('word_{}'.format(rts), rtList[rts])
except NameError:
    # practice phase
    practice_trials.addData('senLen', len(rtList))