Pausing in a loop and continuing from where it was paused

Win 10
PsychoPy3: 3.0.0

Hi everyone. I am pretty new in coding, and trying to build an experiment by using the builder.
I am trying to build a routine in which participants will watch lines on the screen and hear sound stimuli. While doing so, I want them to stop the routine if they remember something (this is an involuntary memory task) by pressing a key, and then continue without messing up with the timing and the rest of the stimuli.

I have used this code:

pauseKey = event.getKeys()
txt = visual.TextStim(win,text='paused, press R to resume')
txt2 = visual.TextStim(win,text='press P to pause')
txt2.draw()
if 'p' in pauseKey:
  td = win._toDraw
  win._toDraw = []  # hides whatever was being auto-drawn
  while not event.getKeys(keyList=['r']):
    txt.draw()
    win.flip()
  win._toDraw = td  # restore auto-draw
  pauseKey = NOT_STARTED
  pauseKey = []  

if 'escape' in pauseKey:
    core.quit()

It works in terms of pausing, but it actually continues to run at the background (without showing me of course). How can I achieve pausing without the code running at the background?

(Sorry if I’m messing up with the terms here…:slight_smile:

Can you explain what you mean by that? Most particularly, what is “it” referring to?

EDIT: now that I think about it, I can make a guess as below:

It looks like what you are doing above is (quite cleverly) interrupting the drawing loop to make everything disappear. The reason I wouldn’t normally advise having while loops and win.flip() in your own custom code, though, is precisely because it will interrupt Builder’s normal event loop cycle and timing.