Opacity of text stimuli is not updating

OS (Win10):
PsychoPy version (3.1.5):
Standard Standalone? (y):

What are you trying to achieve?:
I am rather new to psychopy and python in general.
I am trying to adjust the opacity of text stimuli in one routine based on clicked responses that occur in a subsequent routine (in the same loop). I have valid clickable text stimuli, and when one of them is clicked in the second routine, when the loop repeats, I want the clicked stimuli to update the opacity of the corresponding text stimuli in the first routine.

What did you try to make it work?:
I have the opacities of the three text stimuli set to the variables “Step2_Opacity”, “Step3_Opacity”, and “Step4_Opacity”.

In the begin experiment tab, I set each of those variables equal to 0.

Step2_Opacity = 0
Step3_Opacity = 0
Step4_Opacity = 0

In the begin routine tab, I set each of those variables equal to themselves. In the text_stim window under advanced, I have opacity to update every repeat.

Step2_Opacity = Step2_Opacity
Step3_Opacity = Step3_Opacity
Step4_Opacity = Step4_Opacity

In the subsequent routine, in the each frame tab, I have

if InfoSearchSelection_Click.isPressedIn(Step2Dummy_Text):
    Step2_Opacity = 1

if InfoSearchSelection_Click.isPressedIn(Step3Dummy_Text):
    Step3_Opacity = 1

if InfoSearchSelection_Click.isPressedIn(Step4Dummy_Text):
    Step4_Opacity = 1

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?:
The experiment runs fine, but the opacity of the three text stimuli is still stuck at 0. The updated value of 1 is not carrying over when the loop repeats. I also have the click event set to end the routine on a valid click, and when I run through it, it is appropriately ending the routine when I click one of the text stimuli and staying in the routine when I click elsewhere.