MovieStim3 / moviepy issues - large initial frame time, "catching up" after seek

Hi, first poster here. I would like to report some issues with movie playback using moviestim3/moviepy. More specifically:

1. The first frame (containing movie.draw() and win.flip()) takes very long to display, possibly messing up timing of video presentation.
  2. After seek(), the movie does not start from the new position, instead, a few frames from before the seek are displayed, after which the video jumps to the new position.
  3. Also after seek(), the video is played at a higher frame rate, as if to “catch up” with some kind of mistaken timer.

My video was playing choppy sometimes, playing too fast other times, so I did some testing in which I measured frame draw and total cycle timings.

Disclaimer: I’m fairly new to psychopy and python itself, so my methods, thinking, conclusions may be inherently mistaken. I’m happy to learn new things so please be patient and explain.

My setup: I’m using psychopy 3.2.4 library in python (not the standalone); moviepy 1.0.1, pygame 1.9.6 on win10 x64, GTX 1080Ti, i7-8700K.

I used the following code for the tests:

import psychopy.core, psychopy.visual, psychopy.event, psychopy.monitors
import time
import numpy as np
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

# setting up monitor, opening window
monitor = psychopy.monitors.Monitor('LG32UD99W', width=70, distance=40)
monitor.setSizePix([3840, 2160])
win = psychopy.visual.Window(size=[2560, 1440], monitor=monitor, units="deg", screen=0, color=-1., colorSpace='rgb', fullscr=False, allowGUI=False)

# 2 movies: 720p or 1440p, both have no audio track
movie = psychopy.visual.MovieStim3(win, '720p.mkv', size=(1280, 720), noAudio=True)
# movie = psychopy.visual.MovieStim3(win, '1440p.mkv', size=(2560, 1440), noAudio=True)

# The 3rd test included this seek command:
# movie.seek(150)

movie.play()

# loop 300 win.flip() cycles, measure movie.draw() time and cycle time
n = 300