Mouse click counter

Hi everyone! I am a beginner in using the code component in Psychopy and need your help.

What are you trying to achieve?:

I want to create a mouse click counter for each of the text components on the screen. If the # clicks are odd the text will turn green, otherwise white.

What did you try to make it work?:

I have created a dataframe that contains text components and corresponding click counters starting from 0.

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?:
File “C:\Program Files\PsychoPy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\event.py”, line 877, in isPressedIn
return any(wanted & pressed) and shape.contains(self)
AttributeError: ‘str’ object has no attribute ‘contains’

OS (Win10):
**PsychoPy version 2.4

Hi @berna,

Based on this error you are receiving, it looks like on line 11 (where you call isPressedIn) the variable x is being treated as a string (str) instead of as a shape. I think Pandas DataFrames only allow 1 datatype in the dataframe, so you are losing important type information by mixing shapes (clickables) and integers (clickcount). I would try using code that doesn’t involve Dataframes:

In Begin Routine you initialize your variables:

clickables = [ans1, ans2, ans3]
clickcount = [0] * len(clickables) #the number of 0s in clickcount should match the number of clickables

In Each Frame you check your click status:

for i, x in enumerate(clickables): # i = index within clickables list, x = a shape from clickables
  if mouse_5.isPressedIn(x):
    clickcount[i] += 1
    if clickcount[i] %2 == 1:
      x.color = 'green'
    else:
      x.color = 'white'

enumerate() gives you an index,value (i,x) pair so that you can use your shape x but also match that to the number in clickcount with the index i. Enumerate’s documentation