How to make a color changer using random colors

Hi! I’m new to PsychoPy. I want to make a color changer: anytime the participant clicks on colored boxes, an empty polygon color changes to the color clicked. I’d like to output the name of the color clicked and the time of the clicks.

So far I can’t change the polygon color more than 2 times on every trial, regardless how much I click on the colored boxes.

The boxes’ colors came from a conditions file and are randomized as the trial loops.

Begin Routine

polygons = [box1, box2, box3]
clickClock=core.Clock()
lastClickTime = 0
clicks = []
clickedlist = []
clicked_things =[]

Every Frame

clickables = [box1, box2, box3]

for clickable in clickables:
    if mouse.isPressedIn(clickable):
        clickedlist = clicked_things.append(clickable.name)
        thisExp.addData('box', clickedlist)
        thisClickTime = clickClock.getTime()
        clicks = thisClickTime
        thisExp.addData('RT', clicks)

if clickable.name in clicked_things:
        polygon.color = clickable.fillColor

Hi @ariomester,

I am not sure that this does what you want it to do:

That’s because clicked_things will contain multiple values after multiple clicks and therefore will change polygon.color rapidly multiple times each frame and always end on the color of box3 (last element in clickables). So, what you need is

if clickable.name == clicked_things[-1]:

This should set polygon.color to the color of the most recently clicked box.

Also another caveat: If your participants hold the mouse button down for more than a frame (which they probably will), you will end up with a lot of redundant and confusing data. What I usually do to prevent this is checking whether the mouse was NOT pressed in the last frame and only then run the code that should be run when the mouse is pressed.

Hi!

Thank you a lot, there were things I wasn’t considering… I got this error:

IndexError: list index out of range