How to code to get a random time for the fixation cross?

Dear friends,

As I am new to psychopy, I would be grateful if someone can help me.
How should be the coding to gain a random number of time (e. g., 500 ms) for the fixation cross from Psychopy?

Thanks in advance.

Are you using Builder? If so, you could do the following:

1. Include a code component in your trial routine (on the right side, click Custom/Code).
  2. In the “Begin Experiment” tab, define the minimum and maximum duration of your fixation cross in seconds. For example, use:
# Fixation cross duration
fixDurMin = 0.3 # minimum: 300 ms
fixDurMax = 0.7 # maximum: 700 ms
  1. In the “Begin Routine” tab, use:
# Fixation cross duration for this trial
fixDur = np.random.uniform(fixDurMin, fixDurMax) # random between minimum and maximum
thisExp.addData('fixation_duration',fixDur) # document the duration in your logfile
  1. In the text component for your fixation cross, which needs to be below the code component, set the “Stop” section to “duration (s)” and use:
$fixDur

Now PsychoPy will use your randomly generated variable instead of a fixed time.

1. Optional: Set “Expected duration (s)” to the average of your minimum and maximum duration, i.e., 0.5 in the example case, to see the estimated (!) fixation cross duration in your routine
2 Likes

Thank you so much for your great help.

I followed your instruction but I do not know why the program does not run.
I also changed the place of the code component before and after the fixation cross component ( which is the text component), but it still does not run.
I really do not know how to fix it.

I would be thankful if you could help me.

I’m sorry, I made a little mistake in step 3 and corrected it in the first post. Please exchange the old “Begin Routine” code with the new code and try again.
The text component needs to be below the code component because it needs its information.