How do I set a random start time for my choices?

If this template helps, then use it. If not, then just delete and start from scratch.

OS (e.g. Win10): macOSCatalina
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): PsychoPY v2021.1.4
Standard Standalone? (y/n) If not then what?:
What are you trying to achieve?:
I try to experiment with testing people’s short-term memory, but I need the time between the stimulus and the presented choices to be random from 5 to 20 seconds with a 5-sec interval. How can I achieve that with the code component?
What did you try to make it work?:
I tried to use the code component.
What specifically went wrong when you tried that?: As you can see, I have my stimuli presented for 0.5 seconds, and after an interval of time, I will show the participants the possible choices to see if they recognize what they saw.
I want to make the intervals random from 5 to 20 seconds with a 5-sec interval. I am completely new to PsychoPy, and I am not sure how to achieve that.
Include pasted full error message if possible. “That didn’t work” is not enough information.
I do not have an error message yet since I have no idea how to do it, but I do have a screenshot of my GUI, shown below:

Thank you so much!

Hi,

When you say 5 to 20 seconds with 5 seconds interval, do you mean the start time being either 5,10,15 or 20? That is my assumption for now.

Add a code component and move it to the top by right-clicking the code components name in Builder view. Add the following code in Begin routine:

time_choices = [5,10,15,20] 
offset = 0.5 # "delay" from imageTraining component

# randchoice() returns on of the start times from the list above randomly.
start_time = randchoice(time_choices) + offset

In the components you now add $start_time in the start slot of the image components. $ means it’s a variable.

Hope this works :smile:

Thank you for replying so quickly!

However, a syntax error returned. Here is the error message: