End Screen / Goodbye / Thank you for participating

Hello,

I am Brand New to Python and Psychopy so please use simple language!
I have managed to create a simple keyboard response task, and yet I have fallen at the final hurdle!

How do I add text at the end of my task to say “Thank you for participating, goodbye!” or something of a similar nature. I also want this to appear on screen for 1.5 seconds. Nothing fancy.

I realise this is basic beyond basic but I can’t find anything else online to tell me how to do this.

Many thanks,
Raegan :slight_smile:

Really depends how the rest of your experiment is put together (show us the code if you want specific advice), but the short version is, after whatever your main experiment loop is, just create a textStim object, draw it, flip your window, and put core.wait(1.5)

Hi Jonathan,

Thank you so much for your reply. I have no idea what you mean by TextStim object?

This is my code:

from psychopy import visual, event, core
from psychopy.visual import ShapeStim

win = visual.Window([800,800])

stimBlue = visual.Circle(win,radius=0.2,edges=64, fillColorSpace=‘rgb255’, fillColor=[0,0,255])
stimRed = visual.Circle(win,radius=0.2,edges=64, fillColorSpace=‘rgb255’, fillColor=[255,0,0]) #T1
stimBlue.pos = [-0.6,0]
stimRed.pos = [0.6,0]

feedback = visual.TextStim(win, colorSpace = ‘rgb255’, color=[0,0,0]) # this creates some text

for i in range(1,10): # T3 This command controls the index, this changes by a value of 1 within its range
if i % 2 == 1: # if the trial is an odd number (note - % means “modulus”)
stimOn = 'blue’
stimBlue.draw()
if i % 2 == 0:
stimOn = 'red’
stimRed.draw() #T4

win.flip() # T5 The flip command tells Psychopy we want to present something inside the window we previously set out
key = event.waitKeys(maxWait=5,keyList=['b','r']) # waits for either an r or b key to be pressed. If 5 seconds pass, then it moves on without a response