Drag and drop one of multiple stimuli to one of multiple locations

Hello,

I am very new to PsychoPy and coding in general, so sorry for how little I know. I am trying to create an experiment in which the participant will have to place 15 coloured squares in order (no correct/incorrect order). I have created the basis (in builder mode), with the 15 squares and 15 destination squares too. Next step is implementing the drag and drop feature, I am assuming to do this I will have to enter it as code.

I have tried to work it out and Frankenstein it with some of the solutions to similar queries on here but cannot for the life of me make it work…

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi @Tom_Olive, all you need is a code component and mouse. Make sure your mouse settings is set to “never end routine on press”. Then, say you have shape called polygon and a mouse called mouse. You check whether the mouse isPressedIn the polygon object - see docs and if it is, you set the polygon position to the position of the mouse. Then you have drag and drop. E.g.,

if mouse.isPressedIn(polygon):
    polygon.setPos(mouse.getPos())

Thanks so much, do i need to do this 15 times, or can i just put:

if mouse.isPressedIn(Square1, Square2, Square3, etc.)

Sorry if these are obvious questions.

You are going to want to keep each conditional separate so that you only set the position for the shape that the mouse is pressed in.

Best to loop through your stimuli and have only one if/then check, and then exit the loop (otherwise, it is easy to end up dragging multiple stimuli as one passes over another). e.g.

for stimulus in [square01, square02, square03, etc]:
    if mouse.isPressedIn(stimulus):
        stimulus.pos = mouse.getPos()
        # exit the loop so only drag one stimulus at a time:
        break