Do not repeat the stimuli in two loops

Hello,
I create a task where I have 10 stimuli per category, and I have 8 categories. In my first block, I want the participant to see 5 of the 10 words in each category (Ok I managed to do it, with 8 csv list file). But I don’t want him to see the same stimulus again in the second block ("CategoryValenceNeg).
How do I do this? I tried adding a global loop that refers to the same list but it doesn’t work…
Any ideas? I’m a beginner, I succeeded with several tutorials and questions/answers to create the code for the randomization but I have no base in python… well now a little bit.

Thanks!

Hi @Cju, you could do this by using the “selected rows” field for the loops. Put a code component in front of the first loop and define two variables which contain two random non-overlapping subsets of the row indices of the conditions file. Then use those two to select the rows to be used for the first and second loop respectively.

Thanks! But… I’m really sorry I don’t understand how to do that :S

In some routine before the first of the two sub-loops, insert a code component. Then input this code:

import random

RowsLoop1 = random.sample(range(10), 5)
RowsLoop2 = list(set(range(10)) - set(RowsLoop1))

Then, use these two variables in the “selected rows” field of the respective loops. Let me know, if that works for you!

1 Like

Hi ! It partially work…
But with this code, we can see only 5 words instead of 40 like before…
Here, I have 8 categories, separated in 8 csv files.
Here is the code :

import csv
newConditions = # define an initially empty list
for fileName in [‘FrenchPosCong.csv’, ‘EnglishPosCong.csv’,‘FrenchNegCong.csv’, ‘EnglishNegCong.csv’,‘FrenchPosIncong.csv’, ‘EnglishPosIncong.csv’,‘FrenchNegIncong.csv’, ‘EnglishNegIncong.csv’]:
conditions = data.importConditions(fileName) # create a list of dictionaries
shuffle(conditions) # randomise their order
conditions = conditions[0:5] # select just ten of them