Design with Timer (clock) hidden from view unless called by user

Hi All,

I’m very new to psychopy and Python in general, but I’m very interested in getting up to speed so that I can use this program to build some research tasks. In short, I’m invested in learning this program but I think I’ll need some pointers along the way.

My basic task design is that participants engage in an ongoing activity of some kind (e.g., a stroop task), but they are also asked to press the space bar at a specific point in the future (e.g., press the space bar after 30 seconds have passed). That all seems simple enough, but what I’d like to do is have a clock present that is a timer that counts down from the time prompted (e.g., ‘30 secs’) down to zero AND have the clock only visible when it is called by participant’s button press. That is, the clock is running in the background and is only shown to the participant when they press a button. The goal here is to allow the participant to track the time elapsed and allow me to check their time checking behavior.

I found code for a countdown timer in a previous thread and could modify that as need for a digital clock, but, and here’s where it gets a bit tricky, ideally I’d like to present an analogue clock face showing the amount of time remaining. I’ve considered building one from the ground up (or piggy-backing on someone else’s python code) and using that to implement the clock function. Another possibility, although perhaps a bit more crude, is to make videos of analogue times set to different durations (e.g., 30 sec, 45 sec, 60 sec) and pull those into the screen somehow.

So, I have two question:

1. What is the easiest/most efficient way to “hide and reveal” the clock? I thought I could just have it present the whole time and add an object (a box) in front of it that can removed for 1 second after a button press and automatically returns (clock is always there, but is obscured).