Creating a For Loop

Hi there,

I am a graduate student trying to use PsychoPy to create an N400 EEG study. To do so, sentences with various expectation failing properties are presented one word at a time with a short static period in between them.

Thus, I am trying to code a loop that essentially goes:
Load random sentence from excel file
For every word in this sentence:
list word for 250 ms, wait 300 ms
If last word, wait for 1200 ms.

Loop for X trials.

In theory it sounds like it shouldn’t be too difficult to code in python, but I can’t make heads or tails of it.

Thanks!

If you created this experiment in the graphical Builder interface, then everything here could be achieved without any code, except a for a snippet of four lines to achieve the conditional duration of the last wait period.

Happy to show how to do that, but don’t really have the time to walk through creating the entire rest of the experiment in code.

Hi Michael,

It would be great if you could lend a hand with setting that up in the builder interface.

Thanks!

Start with this tutorial on the Stroop task, which will teach you the basics of putting text stimuli on the screen, randomised from an Excel or .csv file:

Once you have got the basics implemented (of displaying the randomised words), insert a second text stimulus component on your main trial routine. One will be used to display the word for this trial, and will have a fixed start time of 0 and a fixed stop time of 0.25.

The second text stimulus will be blank and just used to control the variable wait period. Give it a fixed start time of 0.25 and a duration of $wait_time.

i.e. the $ symbol indicates to Builder not to take the value literally, but treat it as a Python expression (in this case, the variable name wait_time). To control that variable, insert a code component on the routine (from the “custom” component panel). In the “begin routine” tab, insert code something like this:

if the_name_of_your_loop.nRemaining == 0: