Continuously exactly 1 frame is dropped per trial

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to psychopy (doing my first experiment for my bachelor’s thesis) and have come across a problem controlling stimulus presentation:

In my experiment’s procedure, I do present an image for 2 frames on a 75 hz CRT-monitor. This is directly followed by a set of three masks, that are also presented for 2 frames each. Next, there is a blank intervall randomly ranging between 90 and 120 frames.

Having seen the image, subjects should as quickly as possible decide whether they have seen an indoor- or an outdoor-scene by lifting a finger of one of the ctrl-keys, that are required to be held down.

Now here’s my problem (Code below): I set the win.recordFrameIntervals to True to obtain info about dropped frames. In order to see for every trial if frames were dropped, I set the recording to zero directly before starting with the presentation procedure, and save the number of dropped frames in a variable that is appended to my output. I alway get one dropped frame per trial, also with a second CRT-monitor I tested my experiment on. The computer has an external graphics card with drivers that are fully updated.

Code:

#Preload Images
images = [] # need to start with an empty list

filenames = expFile["filename"]
filenames_path = path_images + expFile["filename"]

for file in filenames_path: #create an image stimulus from each file, and store it in the list
    images.append(visual.ImageStim(win=win, image=file)) 

#function to present image and masks and capture RT of releasing a key
def presentImage(win,stimulus, maskPic1, maskPic2, maskPic3, fillerPic): 
    image = stimulus

mask1 = maskPic1

mask2 = maskPic2

mask3 = maskPic3

filler = fillerPic

c = 0
    io.clearEvents() 

for frameN in xrange(2): 
        image.draw()
        win.flip()
        if frameN == 0:
             t1 = core.getTime() #time at stimulus onset
    win.flip() 
    for frameN in xrange(2):
        mask1.draw()