Consent Form In PsychoPy Builder

Hello, I am a grad student and I’m stuck on part of my experiment.

I am trying to create an experiment in the PsychoPy Builder that will run properly when I upload it to Pavlovia.

Everything works fine except for the consent screen. (I tried making it a consent form, using the form component, but any time I have pulled in a document from my desktop, it has not worked when I tried to run it on Pavlovia).

The consent screen is just some text (the consent info) and then two “buttons” (made using two shape components and text on top of it; they say “i do consent” and “i do not consent”).

If they do consent, I want the experiment to go forward.

If they do not consent, I want the experiment to go to the debriefing screen. (This is a requirement set by my university).

I have tried adding a code component:

print(mouse.clicked_name)
print(correctAnswer)

if mouse.clicked_name[i_do_consent] == correctAnswer:
thisExp.addData(‘correct’, ‘1’)
else:
thisExp.addData(‘correct’, ‘0’)

Variations on this code have included

• For mouse.clicked_name: mouse.PressedIn, mouse.getPressed
  • For correctAnswer: correct, corrAns
  • For thisExp.addData: psychoJS.experiment.addData

I have read that apparently mouse.PressedIn doesn’t work on Pavlovia, and I’m trying to not have to have the experiment go to online consent or debriefing forms.

If you have any advice/ideas, please let me know.

Thanks!

Unfortunately, forms (and rating scales) do not work on Pavlovia so you could use sliders or an embedded html form. I have an example of the latter in my template Pavlovia

1 Like

Hi @Cristina_Weiner , the isPressedIn mouse method has now been implemented for PsychoJS in the latest versions of PsychoPy, so you could also build some accept / decline buttons using text and polygons.

Hi dvbridges.

Sorry, I’m quite new to programming so I may be one of the more inexperienced people on here. Currently, my consent screen looks something like this: