Conditional Stimulus Display

Hello,
I am creating an experiment in coder in which participants either select yes (as indicated by pressing 1) or no (as indicated by pressing 2) in response to a question. Later in the experiment, I read their output excel file back into the experiment so that I can present them with the questions that they only answered yes to. I need a code in which if there is a 1 in the column called “yes_resp”, the question in that row will be displayed. So more simply put, I need the experiment to display specific stimuli from one condition based on another condition. I am at a completed loss on how to do this. I have uploaded my code, but if a more specific piece is needed, please let me know. I’m sorry if there are issues with my code, I’m relatively new to psychopy.

FOKlearning080117.py (76.0 KB)

Casey

Hi Casey,

Realistically, people aren’t going to read 78 kB of Python code to try to answer a not-clearly-articulated question.

But in general I would suggest that you don’t bother with trying to read in an output file to get people’s responses. Just keep track of them in a list as you go: it will be much easier to deal with. It might be that you simply add the index number of the question on each trial if person answered “yes”, or the entire text of the question. But we really need more details explained to give you an answer: we can’t practically interpret your needs/intentions from the code.

Michael,
thank you for your advice. I agree that it would be much easier to keep the items in a list as I go. Would you be able to elaborate more on this?