Changing image colour online

Hi all,

I’m having trouble conditionally changing the colour of Image stim when running demos on Pavlovia.

Offline, I can do this easily using something like:
if …(button is clicked)
…stimName.color = ‘red’

However, when manually converting this code into JS, I’ve only managed to get this to work online when Polygon stim are used (Image stim simple won’t change colour):
stimName.fillColor = new util.Color(‘red’);

I have zero experience with Javascript (and little with Python, as I mostly use the Builder view), so I’m probably missing something very simple in my JS coding… But if anyone is able to help me out here, that should be enough to get my experiment going online!

Many thanks :slight_smile:

Thanks for the post Jamie, indeed, even if you set the color to change for you image in Builder, the image color does not change online (but does locally on your desktop). WIll flag this as a bug on GitHu - see https://github.com/psychopy/psychojs/issues/29

1 Like

Hi! Do you have any suggestions to how overcome this bug? I think it is still not working…

^ I’m also curious if this issue has been resolved or if there is a workaround? I still seem to be having this issue too.

If I understand the issue correctly, this is about changing the colour behind a mask.

You could present a coloured polygon behind an image with a transparent foreground rather than using the mask feature.

Hi, I’m wondering if this has been resolved or anyone found a way around it. I’m trying to recolour an empty white image by setting a new colour. Works brilliantly locally, fails online. Unfortunately using a Polygon is not an option as I need a mask on the image.

Please could you upload some screenshots of what it should look like (and your empty white image)?

Hi, thanks for the quick reply!

Locally, it looks like this: Dropbox - screenshot_local.png - Simplify your life
You should to see two little bright red eggs in the bottom right.