Change gaussian blur level of image continuously by changing slider position

OS (e.g. Win10): Mac OS
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 2021.2.3
**What are you trying to achieve?:

Hello,

I’m new to PsychoPy. I am currently trying to change the gaussian blur level of an image depending on the current slider position.

What have I tried so far?

I created a slider and put an image above it.

With a code component, I am trying to adjust the gaussian blur level of the image depending on the position of the slider:

I can see the slider, the image. The slider works, but I have a problem with programming, I can not change the gaussian blur level of the image.

Dinny

Hello!

Do you want your blur level to be continuous or are there a discrete number of blur settings? Do you want it to run locally or online as well?

Becca

Hi Becca!

Thank you so much for your reply.

I hope the blur level will be continuous from 1-10, and the experiment will be run on the Pavlovia, do you have any ideas?

Dinny

final_exp.psyexp (41.6 KB)
here are my builder file, but i cannot run it on the pavlovia.

:image: Image components don’t have an innate method to set gaussian blur, but you can do it! What you’ll need to do is read in your image as a PIL image, convert it to a numpy array, then apply a gaussian transformation to it. So, at the start of your experiment, you’d do this:

from PIL import Image

# Get image as a PIL
imgPil = Image.open("C:\\Users\\Work\\Downloads\\man.jpg")
# Convert to a numpy array
imgData = np.flip(np.asarray(imgPil), 0)
# Split into red, green and blue channels and convert to rgb1 color space
r = imgData[:, :, 0] / 255
g = imgData[:, :, 1] / 255
b = imgData[:, :, 2] / 255