Blocks of Pseudo-Random Stimulus Positions Independent from Outer Loop (Reversal Learning)

OS (e.g. Win10): Win10
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 2021.1.3
Standard Standalone? (y/n) Yes

Hello! This forum is so helpful and I’ve learned so much by reading others’ questions here as I’m new to PsychoPy and python/coding in general. There’s one issue that I haven’t been able to deal with. I’ve been reading through a lot of past posts to try to troubleshoot this but haven’t found a similar issue.

I am making a reversal learning touchscreen task for dogs in which 2 stimuli are displayed and the “correct” (rewarded) stimulus changes such that the other (previously unrewarded) stimulus is rewarded after the dog reaches criteria (at least 9 correct of the last 10 consecutive trials), and so on, until 50 trials have been completed (regardless of the number of reversals that were completed). I got that part worked out just fine in a preliminary version of the task. In this initial version of the task, I had just used a 2-row conditions file set to loopType random to change the stimulus position each trial to either the Blue shape on the left and the Yellow shape on the right, or the Yellow shape on the left and the Blue on the right.

The “correct stimulus” is defined by an outer loop called reversals, which is a 2-row conditions file set to loopType sequential such that when the code tells it the trials have reached criteria, it will switch to the opposite stimulus being correct/rewarded. The inner/nested loop is the trials loop which contains the trials. Trials consist of presentation of clickable/touchable stimuli, a feedback routine where code will later be inserted to operate an automatic feeder/dispense a treat when the correct stimulus is touched, and a timeout routine that only occurs if the touched stimulus was incorrect. (I realized I can probably easily combine the feedback and timeout routine but haven’t done so yet).

Here’s the issue I’m having: