Organised Randomization of 4 photos

Hello,
I’m new to Psychopy. I know how to randomize a list of images. But at the moment I’m trying to build a task in which 4 images appear in each corner of the screen: 2 neutral, one positive and one negative.
I want the order and placement of image valence (positive, neutral & negative) to be randomized without repetition. For instance I don’t want negative images to appear in the same place every time.
I’m not sure how to do that. Any help would be appreciated.
I’m using the latest version of psychopy (v1.85.0) on windows.
Thanks in advance.

There are two options:
(1) control this behaviour using small code snippets
(2) handle it yourself in your conditions file.

e.g. The second approach is likely simplest, just have four columns for the image names:

top_left    top_right    bot_left    bot_right
neut1.jpg   neut2.jpg    pos1.jpg    neg1.jpg
pos2.jpg    neut3.jpg    neut4.jpg   neg2.jpg  
etc
etc

and use those variable names in the corresponding image stimuli.

i.e. in this approach, PsychoPy will handle randomising the order of trials, while you are handling the allocation of stimuli to positions. If this pseudo randomisation within trials (which would be constant across subjects) is not sufficient, then some code would be required (and a more detailed description of the variables).

Hi Michael
Thanks for your help. I did indeed consider the four columns approach, however the participants should select one of the pictures at each trial depending on the instructions given beforehand.
For instance:
Trial 1: top left: neutral, top right: positive, bottom left: negative, bottom right: neutral.
The instructions for this trial are let’s say select the negative image.
Trial 1: top left: neutral, top right: negative, bottom left: neutral, bottom right: positive.
The instructions for this trial are let’s say select the positive image.
And so on.