Use a text response and submit only when something is typed

Hello,

I’m a beginner on psychopy and i’m following several tutorial. But I have a question today. From the builder, how can I include a text response, that is the stimuli appear (that’s ok) and participants need to write some text and click on “space” or “enter” to go to next trial ?

Thanks for your help

KB

1 Like

Hi there,

You can use the “textBox” component to record typed responses in the most recent release of PsychoPy :slight_smile:

Please note that since this is a recent addition, it is in beta phase.

Thanks,
Becca

Hello,

Oh great, it is perfect ! Thank you for your answer !
I have a last question. I use the textbox, but how do for that participants can press on “space” or “enter” or an other keyboard letter to validate the answer and go to the next stimulus ?

Thanks

KB

Hi,

You pick up on a good question, this is currently something being ironed out in the textBox component. For me so far I have added a keyboard component to the routine that force ends the routine, but that means that in the keylist of this component you need to make sure to list keys that the participant would not use whilst typing (this is tricky because they could even use the arrow keys to move the cursor in the text box). A better solution suggested by one of the team today was to use a mouse component to end the routine, and allow “any click” to force end the routine.

The trade off is that participants might be slower to register a response after typing with a mouse click compared with a keyboard keypress - so it depends if response time is important for your study.

Hope this helps,
Becca

1 Like

Hi,

Thanks for your solution, that’s work! It’s perfect.

Thank you for your help
Have a nice day

Best Regards
KB

No problem, if you could mark the solution for future users that would be great.

Thanks,
Becca