A bunch of issues with MovieStim3, and probably moviepy more generally

So first I wanted to mention I’m getting bad behavior that is like what is mentioned in these two threads, but also some additional issues:

My major issues arise when trying to loop videos or stop on a particular frame, especially if the video has audio associated with it. I’m getting behaviors where, on looping, the movie will have doubled audio. I’m also getting issues where I will try to get it to pause on a frame near the end and it will instead land on a black screen, or if I try to get it to loop without displaying a blank frame in between and it will still insert a black screen. I recently stopped trying to manually create a frame-counting system and instead started relying on MovieStim3’s getCurrentFrameTime(), but until then I was getting some severe desyncs with my manual frame counts and the movie’s playtime and occasional crashes if it went looking for a frame that didn’t exist.

Worst of all, these issues are inconsistent to reproduce and seem heavily tied to timing issues that vary from computer to computer based on the processor and RAM, as far as I can tell. You could not ask for a more maddening set of glitches. The only really consistent thing I’ve found is that if you try to seek(0) on a movie with audio, it is more likely to do something strange like double the audio or have it out of sync with the video. Even that isn’t deterministic.

Basically, I need a better way of figuring out where I am in the video, re-syncing the audio if needed, and being able to stop on a specific frame. Does anyone have ideas about how I could reach down into a moviestim object and get the info I need, or is this an issue that requires further development work?

I’d love to see MovieStim3 improve but your post doesn’t give much concrete stuff to work on. It would be great to take one problem at a time and fix it, rather than “soem additional issues”.